May 5, 2003

Around the state
___bluebull Martha Boggs, assistant professor of woodwinds and music literature emeritus, and Peggy Patillo, retired administrative assistant for the Hardin-Simmons University School of Music, were recently honored by the HSU Former Faculty, Staff, Administration Fellowship. Boggs was named former faculty member of the year and Patillo former staff member of the year.
___bluebull Several Wayland Baptist University faculty and staff members were honored recently at the annual awards banquet. Hoyt Bowers, professor of biological sciences and chairman of the division of mathematics and sciences, was honored for 40 years of service. A 30-year service award went to Pol
DARREN BRUCE, chaplain of the Clemson University football team, recently spoke with some of the members of the Dallas Baptist University baseball team after a Fellowship of Christian Athletes meeting. Woody Dantzler of the Dallas Cowboys also spoke at the meeting.
ly Lackey, director of libraries, and her husband, Wilburn Lackey, professor of psychology, was honored for 25 years. Twenty-year service awards were presented to Kathy Burton, Amelia Cline, Tom Ray, Donna Sarchet and Emmitt Tipton. John Andrewartha and Jim Todd were honored for 15 years, while Mary Maloney and Cindy McClenagan received 10-year pins. Twenty employees received five-year awards. Distinguished service awards were presented to Andrewartha, Paul Sadler and Danny Murphree. Outstanding faculty awards went to Geoff Wells, Christa Smith, Candace Keller, Arch Mayfield and Gary Belshaw. Honored upon their retirement were Jane Matlock, assistant professor of education, and Vernon Norris, coordinator of external programs.
___bluebull The Ornogah, Houston Baptist University's student yearbook, won 35 state and national awards in 2002, including the Division II sweepstakes award. Senior Nicole Dees was editor.
___bluebull Hardin-Simmons University's Logsdon School of Theology's annual awards program recently honored undergraduates Lauren Edwards, Martin Harvey, Jennifer Bass, Jacob West, Jeff Brooks, Victoria Oquinn, Paul Matthies, Andy Rogers, Aaron Kahler, Brian Edwards and Justin Tollison. Graduate students receiving awards were Meredith Stone and Tim Dunn.

___bluebull Barry Chinn, fifth, as pastor of Woodlawn Church in Austin March 8.
___bluebull Bobby Smith, 20th, as associate pastor of First Church in Nacogdoches April 1.
___bluebull Bruce Wells, 20th, as pastor of First Church in Liberty May 3.
___bluebull Dolen Church in Cleveland, 90th, May 4. Former pastor Raymond Marshall was the guest preacher. Jerry Lyons is pastor.
___bluebull Terry Wilkins, 10th, as minister of education and music at First Church in Chappell Hill May 11.
___bluebull Amarillo Baptist Association, 50th, May 19. A noon celebration lunch will be held in Harold Smith Auditorium. All living retired directors of missions will be present, including Argus Burnett, Chester O'Brien, and B.L. Davis. A historical plaque also will be unveiled. Participants are asked to make reservations at (806) 355-9829. Roy Kornegay is director of missions.
___bluebull First Church in Carrizo Springs, 125th, May 24-25. Activities will begin on Saturday at 3 p.m. with an open house and registration. Historical memorabilia will be displayed and supper served at 5:30 p.m. A worship program will begin at 6:30 p.m. Former pastor Joe Orr will be moderator of a testimony time of former pastors and music directors. Participating will be former pastors Jack Byrom, Harry Grantz, Milton Tyler, Preston Taylor, Bill Stockton and David Hylan. Homer Hanna, who served as interim pastor and Bubba Stahl, pastor of First Church in Boerne and former member, also will give testimonies. Former IMB missionary and member Ralph Wilson also will speak. Byrom will bring Sunday's message, followed by a luncheon. Robert Krause is pastor.
___bluebull Northridge Park Church in San Antonio, 50th, May 24-25. A reception will be held Saturday from 2 p.m. to 5 p.m., and a special service will be held the next morning. David Miracle is pastor.
___bluebull Geary McManus, 30th, as pastor of Knobb Springs Church in McDade.
___bluebull Larry Blackmon, 10th, as pastor of First Church in Hearne.

___bluebull Bennie Clayton, as pastor of Fellowship Church in Longview. He has served the church 10 years.

___bluebull Dennis Julian, 50, March 9 in Palestine. He was minister of music at First Church in Buffalo and a sixth grade teacher. He also had served Hillcrest Church in Nederland, Fairview Church in Sherman and First Church in Palestine. He is survived by his wife of 28 years, Darlene; parents, Ray and Mary Lou Julian; daughter, Deanna Julian; sons, Daniel and David; and brothers, Don and Randy.
___bluebull Aline Bradley, 79, April 19 in Tyler. She was a homemaker and pastor's wife. She is survived by her husband, Floyd; son, Dale; daughters, Phyllis Hext and Ellen Green; brothers, Herman and Vernon Denson; sister, Faye Walling; nine grandchildren; and seven great-grandchildren.
___bluebull Jim Abington, 69, April 29 in Austin. He was the founding and current pastor of Bannockburn Church in Austin, serving there 30 years. He also had been assistant pastor at North Forth Worth Church in Fort Worth and pastor of First Church in League City and Woodlawn Church in Austin. He also was a member of the board of trustees at Mary Hardin-Baylor University. He is survived by his wife of 47 years, Doris Elaine; son, William; daughters, Lisa Abington, Susan Prichett and Sheri Abington; four grandchildren; brother, Robert Abington; and sister, Mary Cate Abington.

___bluebull Jason Covington to the ministry at First Church in Aspermont.
___bluebull Joye Lynn Thompson to the ministry at The Church in Cityview in Fort Worth.
___bluebull Mark Waldrep as a deacon at Tolar Church in Tolar.
___bluebull Leroy Lipham, Gwynn Myers, Matt Fraser and Skip Lipham as deacons at First Church in Aspermont.
___bluebull Paul Legge as a deacon at The Church in Cityview in Fort Worth.

___bluebull Hollywood Road Church in Amarillo recently held groundbreaking ceremonies for its new facility. George Haddox is pastor.
___bluebull Bill and Diane Morris were commissioned to Mission Service Corps April 20 at Flower Acres Church in Texarkana.
___bluebull First Church in Alvarado has moved to its new location on Highway 67. An open house was held May 3 as well as a dedication service the next day. Wade Taylor is pastor.
___bluebull Modern Day John will be in concert at Wildewood Church in Spring June 5. For more information, call (281) 376-8720. George Watson is pastor.

___bluebull Velasco Church, Freeport; May 11-14; evangelist, Homer Martinez; supply pastor, H.O. Bilderback.
___bluebull First Church, Bellville; May 11-14; *evangelist, Steve Brumbelow; *music, Larry Russell; pastor, Jeff English.
___bluebull First Church, Richland; May 11-14; *evangelist, George Couch; *music, Dorothea Couch; pastor, Bill Honea.
___**vocational evangelist

Get printer-friendly version of this story

Send this story to a friend

News of religion, faith, missions, Bible study and Christian ministry among Texas Baptist churches, in the BGCT, the Southern Baptist Convention ( SBC ) and around the world.

Contents/ Masthead / Why We're Here / Links / Archive / E-mail us/ SUBSCRIBE!/ Signup for FirstLook